Tuesdays With Morrie

I know I haven´t been here for a very, ridiculously long time and sorry about that, but I have just this minute finished reading this book Tuesdays With Morrie, by Mitch Albom, and felt the complusion to write something about it. It is a short book of memoirs and only took me a few days to read, and is very simply written, but I think contributes to the beauty of it.  Now although I can be a sentimental person (too much sometimes I think) and I have been engrossed in books before and totally lost myself to the story and not been able to do much else outside of work and sleeping hours than getting through the pages, but honestly I´ve never been touched so much than by this one.

It´s written by a guy who visits an old uni professor in the last few months of his life, who is dying of ALS (Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis, a neurodegenerative disease), who records and documents their discussions, thoughts and relationship.  He travels to his house every Tuesday, the day they used to meet when they were both at the university, and their relationship grows into something deep and meaningful – quickly the author´s outlook is changed in the way of his attitude towards life, everything in life – his ability to open up and accept his feelings and thoughts and emotions, and how to see the world for what it is.  Now when you normally hear that phrase, “see the world/something/someone for what it is,” it doesn´t really bring happy feelings to the forefront of your mind but this character, this real life professor who is absolutely dying with dignity, makes the author see a new way of seeing the world and all it holds – the plants, the people you love, the media, the planet, your actions and behaviour, nature, strangers…  I´m not going to go into detail as you´ll have to read the book yourself but if any of you have already you know what I´m trying vainly to get at.

The way the author writes really lets you in in the most simplest of ways – you understand everything.  There´s no big fancy words or hidden meanings, and I think that´s also a point the professor is trying to get across about life in general.  The thing is, I´ve just been surprisingly affected somewhat by reading these memoirs.  Me, having gone through life at a million miles an hour, never pausing for breath, never resting (I just don´t know how to do it!), making sure I´m always multitasking, putting more energy than I should into things, putting not enough into others… this tiny little scrappy book I found in our house has made me stop, take a, relax, and actually think about things more simply – and no one else has ever managed to get me to do that!  I don´t NEED to go to three different places this August for my holidays – I just really want to be with Javi. I don´t NEED a car right now – I should take note of the things closer to me that I don´t need a car to travel to. I shouldn´t WORRY so much about where my life is going and what´s the next step – I need to focus on the PRESENT and notice all the little things everyday that are happening, the good and the bad, accept them, and enjoy it all in the moment. This, this big open wide acceptance of things, I am going to try and do. Gulp.

One thought on “Tuesdays With Morrie

  1. Lovely reflextions about the book which I read a few months ago, I, too, loved the book and made me think about life.Weary well written comments.

Leave a Reply

